Posted by: Yang | May 1, 2007

Inspirational Speaker

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, whether or not I should become an Inspirational Speaker. For one, I am not a public speaking person, which makes it that much harder. But I have been having that urge to bring to people that hey, I’m Hmong and I have CF, which is rare in Asians. Not only that, but I am also a Christian, not just a Christian, but a Torah practicing Christian. My faith and my ethnicity both revolves around my living with Cystic Fibrosis. Aside from the daily struggles that I go through as a person of color, I have this health issue that not many Hmong people are aware of, except for those who know my family and I. More on this later, but for now, I just wanted to share that thought with you guys.

Recently I had run into a ‘friends’ page on myspace and heard a song, De Temps en Temps ( Time to Time ) by Gregory Lemarchal. Finding out about him and the success that he’s had before his life came to an end, reminds me about how potent it is to reach out to others. Although at his level he was able to reach millions of people and share with them his story, everyone of us has that ability too. Just because we can’t reach millions, doesn’t mean we don’t reach out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

