Posted by: Yang | May 6, 2009

CF and Weather, What are the effects?

Just a thought, anyone with good resources on what kind of effect weather has on CF? The thought has been on my mind for a while now. But today was more apparent just because I was having to struggle to be ‘calm’ and not go into panic mode. Breathing was somewhat more effort than usual, yesterday was sluggish, and overall I’ve been more fatigued. Then it dawned on me, the weather here in Minnesota is changing. I know that in general, the transition from Winter to Spring can bring seasonal allergies for anyone. But what about people with CF? Aside from the seasonal allergies, are there other symptoms that are more specific to us?

Being in MN, where the winter times can be a perfect time for pneumonia, I try to limit my time outside. So that much I know about winter and the cold seasons (late fall to early spring). But when the warm weather is coming in, I’m still unsure about that.

On another note, I have heard that the coast line of Australlia is suppose to be a good place for people with CF. Has anyone heard of this or read it? If you have, can you provide me with some links or resources? What I’ve heard is that along the coast line, where the breeze from the sea (which has salt, obviousily) seems to help with the respiratory system. Again, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!


Leave a comment

Categories