Posted by: Yang | January 31, 2010

Here we are again…

It is 4:39am, early Sunday morning, and it’s one of those ‘nights’ again. Can’t sleep, or actually, I did sleep earlier, but somehow woke up and can’t go back to sleep. Had trouble falling back to sleep, my breathing seems to be a little off, not being able to take deep breathes and my throat is really dry. If I lay on my chest, that helps the breathing a little more easier. But even at that, there’s a sense of shortness of breath. So I decided to just get up, do a neb (albuteral) treatment and hook up on the oxygen. Hopefully this will help.

The last few weeks have been a little rough on the sleeping. Overall, I do eventually fall asleep. But to get there, I have to almost sleep at a 45 degree angle. Using one of those resting pillows that is meant to help you sit up against the wall with arm rests. And then two pillows on top of that to make it some what comfortable to sleep. Thats been helping to do the trick for me to fall asleep and stay sleeping without making me short of breath. The only down side to that is that it is a little awkward and uncomfortable. Because of the angle that my head was in, I’ve actually had 2 occassions of waking up with a soar neck for that day. So sleeping has been difficult and frustrating for me this past few weeks.

So here we are again, me not being able to sleep and needing to get this frustration out of my system. It’s ironic cause during the day, I’m fine for the most part. I mean, last night I was feeling pretty well. Went to the YMCA to meet with a trainer, it was a one time intro for new members. She showed me around and helped me decide the excercise equipments that would help me. Plus, showed me how to use them properly. I got to try them and see if I would like them. For the whole hour and a half that I was there, I probably did about 20 minutes of workout, plus shot a few hoops too. Came home feeling pretty good and refreshed. But I’ve realized that if I stay up too late, wake up ‘early’ the next day (around 7:30am), it throws my body off. Cause when I’m feeling this way, it feels like breathing takes extra effort and it feels like I’m drawing my last few breaths. Of course, that’s probably all in my head to feel that it’s my last few breaths. But why do I feel like that every time I have these episodes? I guess that’s what bothers and scares me the most, is feeling like I’m drawing my last breath. I know I shouldn’t be thinking this way but when breathing takes extra effort, and you’re feeling tired at the same time, it just seems like the logical thing to assume. Plus, it’s way early in the morning so my mind is probably not at it’s sharpest. Not to mention my body is feeling exhausted and tired too.

I should also note, although I don’t know how much it has to do with it but earlier this evening, I had one can of beer at my friends daughters birthday party. Earlier that afternoon, I had taken some meds, Vitamin D and another one (can’t think of the name right now). Like I said, I don’t know if that contributed to me feeling like this but I figured it’s probably worth noting it at the very least.

Well, I’m starting to get tired so I’ll go and see if I can get some sleep…

Leave a Reply

Categories

